Battery question for my Jack

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:03
ThreadID: 20033 Views:2167 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
G'day All

Well it always seems to happen when it is raining. My battery failed this morning and it is pouring here.
Question 1, is it normal for a battery to just stop over night??Worked fine yesterday arvo, this morning, nothing.The 4wd is just over 3 years old and this is the original battery. The only thing running constantly is power to the dvd player..
Question 2, What battery would be recommended to put into my jack. We do not have dual batteries, looking for room to fit a 2nd, so I would like something with a little more capacity than the standard battery.
Thank goodness for jump packs...
Crazie

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:19

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:19
Hi Crazie. Mate they seem to last just over 3 years. Mine died at exactly the same age and overnight. Perfect the afternoon before, s'house next morning. I put in a normal HD battery from RACQ as I was in a hurry to get going. I too am looking at a dual battery system but need to change a few things around in the engine bay to get it in. Where they normally put it(up against the firewall-passenger side) I have the Glind shower system, so the only place I can put it is near the original battery(turned around 90deg) and make a bracket to fit. Will use a 115amp DC for that.
AnswerID: 96196

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:38

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:38
Hi Nobby
Same prob with the dual battery, I have moved my twine heat exhange to ontop on the motor, but have the shurflo pump in that space. I know jackablue had pics of his, so i just tracked them down, but I he has it where my pump is.
thanks
Crazie
FollowupID: 354978

Follow Up By: jackablue - Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 18:58

Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 18:58
Hey Craizie
Have you got any room left on the drivers side to move your sureflow pump to. I am currently looking at this space for a compressor, as there is already an unused bracket there.

Jackablue
FollowupID: 355484

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 20:38

Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 20:38
Hi Jackablue

I will have to have a look, I just made a bracket to fit the pump the, but it can be easily moved, just a few extra pipes. Thanks for posting your pics. I have found there are some useful brackets and bolt holes already in the engine bay to mount things.
cheers mate
Crazie
FollowupID: 355493

Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:33

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:33
if you are desperate to try and get more life out of it see if you can charge it and take it round to an auto sparky for a load test but after 3 years it is probably stuffed. 4by batteries seem to go more quickjly and often than car batteries but it is because of the extra load required to start a vehicle with 20+ :1 compression to your car at 8.5:1 so wheras a car battery that is nearly knackered will still start your car a diesal will crap out earlier (hang on I have just assumed it is a diesal)
try and get the biggest battery you can you should be able to fit in something around 700cca a decent battery + jump pack combined with regular load testing of the battery especially if going remote should just about make a 2nd battery unnessary unless you are a hard core camper
AnswerID: 96199

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:42

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 09:42
Hi Davoe
Thanks for the info, We are pretty serious campers, but run most things off gas and carry 2 jump packs or if we are away for over 3 weeks in the same place, we take the honda eu20i. Always intended on fitting a second battery as we are looking at buying an engel fridge, just where is the question.
thanks mate
crazie
FollowupID: 354980

Reply By: Member - Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:06

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:06
Crazie - when my original died (2 years !) it ran most circuits but was dead on the starter - 'puter wouldn't allow a start due to lower than specced voltage I think. Got a new one - have since got a third battery - higher spec that is going well (and we need all we can get on the TD Jack as you know) - its a Yuasa Overlander - it has 700 CCA as opposed to the very common 600 CCA in that case size. I run an auxiliary battery also for the toys.
AnswerID: 96219

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 13:00

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 13:00
Thanks Banjo

Where have you got your 2nd battery, is it passenger side neas the firewall?? Looking for alterantives

thanks

Crazie
FollowupID: 355017

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:37

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:37
I think 3 years is about the average life of a starter battery. With the second battery you are trying to fit why not get rid of the Twine, and get one of the portable Glind units, it might give you the room you need, Im sure the Twine would be snapped up on the trader section too.

http://www.glind.com.au/htm/product.asp#The%20Glind%20Quickfit
AnswerID: 96226

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:40

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:40
Yea I'll give ya a slab and a dozen bottles of various wines from work for the old unit!!! (We call em the dodgey dozen, they hvae damaged labels LMAO so they cant sell em!)
FollowupID: 355005

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:49

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:49
Hi Gajm
We have a gas hot water system that I made up, if i realy wanted to get rid of the twine, but the twine very handy for a couple nights. The heat exchange is out of the way, the pump is the problem, but I also have a spare pump built into a box which I used before I mounted the pump, I s'pose I could go back to that. But it nice to have it all set up

Truckster
I will keep that in mind, a bit partial to the wine, I never look at the label once its open.. but i would probably put the twine in the Landrover if I took it out.
FollowupID: 355009

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:38

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:38
If your after a good cheap battery, call Andrew at Blackburn Nissan.

He is doing deals on the Yuasa (I think) Overlanders...

I've been doing lots of dealing with him.. very keen to get 4wders on side.

Great deals on Waecos of all sizes and descriptions.
AnswerID: 96227

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:39

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:39
Meant good battery at a cheap price, not h0w it sounded LMAO
FollowupID: 355004

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:50

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 11:50
Cheers Mate, I will give him a call for a good cheap battery lol...
FollowupID: 355010

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 12:06

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 12:06
yep they can drop a cell at any time, dont stuff around, chuck it and get a new one.

My choice is the Delkor M27 marine battery n70zz case size 80 a/h 570cca . has main terminals and auxiliary terminals for accessories etc.

It was recommended to me by R&J batteries when they were one of my customers, they import the whole delkor range , i told them what i use it for and that i wanted a no BS recommendation, price is no object, That is what they said would do the job no worries.

And 2 years on its still going like the day i put it in, it is sealed with acid proof breathers and has the magic eye crapola, very well made, even came in a sexy looking box.
Cranks the v6 over flat out, doesnt mind getting discharged with a fridge overnight etc. and can be left sit for ages, they told me it could sit for 8-9 months and still be sweet.

It is bigger than the standard batt but actually fits perfectly in the plastic batt tray and is the same size that the diesel jacks were fitted with.

RRP is about $160 but you should be able to get them down to $140 odd, just tell them R&J bendigo told you to get it. Retailed through heaps of places, try battery world etc out your side.

You will love it, Brad
AnswerID: 96236

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 13:03

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 13:03
Hi Brad

Thanks mate, I got a new battery, didn't want to stuff around. I just posted the details below.

thanks again for the advise

Crazie
FollowupID: 355018

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 12:58

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 12:58
Hi Everyone

Thanks for the advise, I have learnt about CCA and mintues running time (RC) and other things on batteries today.

I had to go out before and using the jump pack in the rain just getting tied. I went to where I get my 4wd service and got a new battery. The Jack actually has a huge battery tray and about a third of it was not getting used with the old battery. Anyway, I got a new battery, 720cca, 160minutes RC and a 30month warranty , has the magic eye thing, $150. From all accounts, I think a bloddy good deal.

So from what I understand, it is a total over kill, but will be benifical what running things whilst we have stopped.

Thanks for your help

Crazie
AnswerID: 96243

Reply By: MRTEE ( VIC ) - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:13

Wednesday, Feb 02, 2005 at 23:13
Hi adam just done a duel battery converstion on my rig very easy 2 hours 4 beers later all done ; very easy to do I fitted a deep cycle to power my new waeco fridge I looked at the engel fridges steel rusts, no good for the boat also thay are alot bigger than the waeco; there 35 ltr is no good for 1.25 bottles which is why the 40 is a bigger seller my 35 ltr waeco stands 1.5 ltr bottles up and cost me $ 649 not $ 1099 the 40 is $ 1299 hope this helps cheers tony
AnswerID: 96353

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 10:57

Thursday, Feb 03, 2005 at 10:57
Hi Tony

I have all of the gear, except the battery, to run the dual battery set up, just no room. I will tinker and move things around, but the new battery will be great until then. Where did you pick up the fridge from, seems like a good price??? I was leaning towards the Engel, but excellent points on the boat. Caught some 35cm+ snapper, some flatheads and a gummy shark last weekend, out near the south channel fort near sorrent. Was hopping to get some whitting, but no luck. Going to try near rickets point for some, any suggestions

thanks mate

Adam
FollowupID: 355147

Reply By: MRTEE ( VIC ) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 18:06

Saturday, Feb 05, 2005 at 18:06
Hi adam got the fridge from autobarn in narrewaren ,cranbourne have a better range the CDF 35 is a old model the new CF 35 is 240 volt as well as 12 volt but it costs $ 799 not $ 649 it used to sell for $ 799 only ayear ago, repco are selling the same fridge a CDF 40 for $ 699 same fridge diff/ lid B/S regards tony
AnswerID: 96829